Ooh pretty!

March 4, 2011 § 2 Comments

It’s entirely possible that I have an addiction problem when it comes to books. Not only is my apartment full of them but I also have a storage unit full of them, my old bedroom in my mum’s house is full of them and I cannot spend less than an hour in my favorite second hand bookshop, nor can I come away empty handed.

Even though I would not want to pass this affliction onto others, I cannot help but enthuse about particular editions when they pique my interest. One of my favorite publishers, Dover, is well known for publishing important material in affordable editions but they often do special editions too, and I love this relaunch of a classic edition of Austen’s Sense and Sensibility. This new volume is a reissue of the 1894 edition of London publisher George Allen, with the perhaps not entirely true to era but lovely original illustrations of Victorian artist Chris Hammond.

Sense and Sensibility featuring 1899 illustrations by Chris Hammond

Sense and Sensibility featuring 1899 illustrations by Chris Hammond

Sense and Sensibility 2010 Dover Publications, featuring the 1899 illustrations of Chris Hammond

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Ooh pretty!

  • I’m the same. I keep trying to give books away in an attempt to keep my collection under some kind of control but the house still seems to be full of them!

  • Reb says:

    Seriously. Deadly sign in the foyer of my building the other day, saying that they were cleaning out the common lounge and residents were welcome to help themselves to the books. Yeah, so. More books. But at least I discovered a new-to-me author, Monica Dickens, whom I’m now totally into.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ooh pretty! at (grey pony).

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

